1. Welcome to San Diego Chargers NFL Football Podcast and Forum!
    Bolt Talk is one of the largest online communities for the San Diego Chargers.
    We host a regular Chargers podcast during the season.

    You are currently viewing our community forums as a guest user.

    Create an Account or

    Having an account grants you additional privileges, such as creating and participating in discussions. Furthermore, we hide most of the ads once you register as a member!

Posting youtube?

Discussion in 'Forum Help and Feedback' started by Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan, Jul 26, 2007.

  1. Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan

    Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    6,498
    Ratings:
    +1,304 / 12 / -5
    Ok, I know I can post a link to a Youtube video. But how do I embed one into a post? Can't figure that out for the life of me.
     
  2. Shamrock

    Shamrock New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    11,922
    Ratings:
    +1,243 / 0 / -0
    On the YouTube video (use as example), look to the right and it will say "URL" and below "Embed".

    Copy the "embed" code, and just paste it into a post. Don't add "url" or "img" tags, just a straight cut and paste.
     
  3. Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan

    Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    6,498
    Ratings:
    +1,304 / 12 / -5
    That didn't work. :icon_huh:
     
  4. Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan

    Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    6,498
    Ratings:
    +1,304 / 12 / -5
    <object width="425" height="350"><param name="movie" value="<A href="http://www.youtube.com/v/dBmdluu8SKY"></param><param">http://www.youtube.com/v/dBmdluu8SKY"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/dBmdluu8SKY" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed></object>
     
  5. Shamrock

    Shamrock New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    11,922
    Ratings:
    +1,243 / 0 / -0
    Works for me .....


    <object width="425" height="350"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/dBmdluu8SKY"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/dBmdluu8SKY" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed></object>
     
  6. Shamrock

    Shamrock New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    11,922
    Ratings:
    +1,243 / 0 / -0
    Hit quote on my post with the embed vid.

    You have to copy the whole link from where it says "Embed" on the right next to the YouTube video. Don't add any extra tags.
     
  7. Thumper

    Thumper WHS

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    15,615
    Ratings:
    +1,467 / 0 / -0
    [​IMG]

    Make sure you copy the entire "embed" text.
     
  8. Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan

    Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    6,498
    Ratings:
    +1,304 / 12 / -5
    </P>
    All I see is a graphic place holder when I did the above quote.
     
  9. Shamrock

    Shamrock New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    11,922
    Ratings:
    +1,243 / 0 / -0
    Thumper made a cue card for you. That should help .... if not, we'll have to give you the Trumpy "OWNED" treatment.

    :lol:
     
  10. Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan

    Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    6,498
    Ratings:
    +1,304 / 12 / -5
    OH NO! NOT THAT!!!!!!!!!!

    Trying once again:

    <object width="425" height="350"><param name="movie" value="<A href="http://www.youtube.com/v/4im4Q8wd278"></param><param">http://www.youtube.com/v/4im4Q8wd278"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/4im4Q8wd278" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed></object>
     
  11. Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan

    Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    6,498
    Ratings:
    +1,304 / 12 / -5
    CRAAAAAAAAAAAAP!!!!! I STILL CAN'T GET IT TO WORK!!!!!!:tdown:
     
  12. Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan

    Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    6,498
    Ratings:
    +1,304 / 12 / -5
    I am...perhaps you can edit this post and tell me what I did wrong? Here is my test embed:

    <object width="425" height="350"><param name="movie" value="<A href="http://www.youtube.com/v/4im4Q8wd278"></param><param">http://www.youtube.com/v/4im4Q8wd278"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/4im4Q8wd278" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed></object>
     
  13. turbo_turtle

    turbo_turtle In Disguise

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    7,685
    Ratings:
    +890 / 0 / -0
    Testing this out:

    <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/CDiCxhtGMhc"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/CDiCxhtGMhc" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed></object>


    <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/CDiCxhtGMhc" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" height="350" width="425">
     
  14. Shamrock

    Shamrock New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    11,922
    Ratings:
    +1,243 / 0 / -0
    Are you cutting and pasting in one click, or cutting it more than once?

    Is this the vid you were trying to embed?

    <object width="425" height="350"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/4im4Q8wd278"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/4im4Q8wd278" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed></object>
     
  15. turbo_turtle

    turbo_turtle In Disguise

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    7,685
    Ratings:
    +890 / 0 / -0
    I apologize for my post but I was trying to see if I could do a double embedding of a Youtube.

    I was successful. :tup: :yes:
     
  16. Shamrock

    Shamrock New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    11,922
    Ratings:
    +1,243 / 0 / -0

    C'mon CBF .....

    If a turtle and a cow can do it, so can you ..... :yes:
     
  17. turbo_turtle

    turbo_turtle In Disguise

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    7,685
    Ratings:
    +890 / 0 / -0
    An alternative type of embedding.



    <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/4im4Q8wd278" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" height="350" width="425">
     
  18. turbo_turtle

    turbo_turtle In Disguise

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    7,685
    Ratings:
    +890 / 0 / -0
    My first embedding was a copy and paste of the embedding stream form my right click for PC users directly from the source video twice.

    My second was from the embedding tag below the URL. Highlighting the entire stream data tyhen right clicked that to copy it then came here to place it in a post.

    They both were a success.

    I hope that can help CBF. :icon_shrug:
     
  19. Thumper

    Thumper WHS

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    15,615
    Ratings:
    +1,467 / 0 / -0
    There is some additional code that's being added to your cut and paste. Unfortunately I can't display it here because the code will run, at least partially.

    One Idea is to cut and paste to notepad, then cut and paste from there to a post.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Concudan

    Concudan Caffeinated Commando

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    47,388
    Location:
    North side of So Cal
    Ratings:
    +3,757 / 39 / -8
    I see a small box in the code, after the first > and before the second Http. In the code for You Tube it is a ".

    When ever you post it CBF, it shows as a box with a dot in it. Try manually replaceing the character you have there with a ". Your system might be doing some auto formatting.
     
  21. Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan

    Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    6,498
    Ratings:
    +1,304 / 12 / -5
    Yeah, I know. If I can't top the low benchmarkers, what good am I? :icon_tease:
     
  22. Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan

    Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    6,498
    Ratings:
    +1,304 / 12 / -5
    </P>
    Actually no...that was my test. I've just never been able to do it so far.

    Still working on it...
     
  23. Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan

    Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    6,498
    Ratings:
    +1,304 / 12 / -5
    testing from FireFox:

    <object width="425" height="350"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/Y-hkW0jq8ow"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Y-hkW0jq8ow" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed></object>
     
  24. Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan

    Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    6,498
    Ratings:
    +1,304 / 12 / -5
    Now THAT WORKED? Maybe I need to update Internet Exploerer?
     
  25. turbo_turtle

    turbo_turtle In Disguise

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    7,685
    Ratings:
    +890 / 0 / -0
    Excellent you got it. With FireFox.

    CBF finally embedded a Youtube vid. :tup::yes::icon_banana: :icon_toast:
     
  26. Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan

    Carlsbad_Bolt_Fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    6,498
    Ratings:
    +1,304 / 12 / -5
    Give me enough time and I might figure out how to tie my shoes! :lol:

    I'll hit up Windows Update after my system backs up tonight and see if the new IE 6 updates fix this issue. Won't go IE 7...yet.
     
  27. turbo_turtle

    turbo_turtle In Disguise

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    7,685
    Ratings:
    +890 / 0 / -0
    I have the problem of tying my own shoes. :lol:

    Do not bother with IE. It is junk.

    Just use your Firefox. It has not failed me yet.

    Just my opinion.
     
  28. Thread_Killer

    Thread_Killer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4,365
    Ratings:
    +680 / 0 / -0
    Bummer that I didn't see this thread sooner, CB. Changing your browser would've been my first suggestion.

    Sorry, I could have saved you a lot of time. :icon_sad:
     
  29. BFISA

    BFISA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    41,645
    Ratings:
    +2,171 / 0 / -0
    word :yes: :tup: :icon_toast:
     
  30. Concudan

    Concudan Caffeinated Commando

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    47,388
    Location:
    North side of So Cal
    Ratings:
    +3,757 / 39 / -8
    Firefox has problems of its own. There are quit a few OTS programs that cannot run with it due to registry sharing issues.

    Also a lot of internet video files wont play with FF.
     

Share This Page