1. Welcome to Los Angeles Chargers NFL Football Podcast and Forum!

    Bolt Talk is one of the largest online communities for the Los Angeles Chargers. We host a regular Chargers podcast during the season. You are currently viewing our community forums as a guest user.

    Sign Up or

    Having an account grants you additional privileges, such as creating and participating in discussions. Furthermore, we hide most of the ads once you register as a member!
    Dismiss Notice

Five 2012 CIF Section Champions Crowned

Discussion in 'All Other San Diego Sports' started by San Diego Football Fan, Dec 4, 2012.

  1. San Diego Football Fan

    San Diego Football Fan BoltTalker

    Jul 31, 2011


    Chick Embrey Field at Escondido High was the stage where five new division champions reigned supreme. Two of those teams will be representing San Diego county in the CIF State Bowl Playoffs.


    2012 Division I Champions
    Eastlake Titans (9-3)
    Defeated Mission Hills 21-14

    Mission Hills entered the game with a defense that didn't allow an 100-yard rusher all season. That streak came to an end when senior Aaron Baltazar put up 128 yards and all three Eastlake touchdowns. His performance plus a stingy defense helped the Titans edge the top seeded Grizzlies and pick up their second section title in school history.


    2012 Division II Champions
    Oceanside Pirates (12-1)
    Defeated Poway 32-10

    After a forgettable performance in last year's Division II finals, the Pirates redeemed themselves and took home their county leading 14th section title. Senior quarterback Israel "Tofi" Paopao was impressive through the air and ground. He evaded many sack attempts while throwing for 266 yards and two touchdowns. He also rushed for another 48. Senior William Gulley chipped in with four total touchdowns (3 runs 1 catch) and a sack on defense.

    Oceanside remains the top ranked team in the county, but unfortunately they will not be playing for a state championship. The bowl committee selected Serra (Gardena) and Edison to play in the Division II Southern California regional playoff.


    2012 Division III Champions
    Lincoln Hornets (10-3)
    Defeated Ramona 42-14

    Lincoln and Ramona met in the first round of the 2011 Division III playoffs with just two wins between them. Who would have predicted they would met again for the section title a year later?
    Lincoln's dominating performance ended a 26-year title drought. Junior running back Jaechon Murphy led the Hornets' ground game with 120 yards and two touchdowns. Senior Tajon Mondy rushed for 74 yards and picked off a pass on defense.


    2012 Division IV Champions
    Madison Warhawks (12-1)
    Defeated St. Augustine 35-21

    For the second time in school history, Madison earns a section title and a shot at a state championship. Arizona bound senior Pierre Cormier led the way as usual rushing for 157 yards and three touchdowns. Fellow Arizona commit Lee Walker recorded five catches for 133 yards. His biggest play was an 87-yard touchdown catch in the third quarter.

    The Warhawks will travel to Monrovia to take on the Monrovia High Wildcats in the Division III Southern California regional playoff. Kickoff is set for Saturday, December 8th at 7:30 p.m. pacific time.


    2012 Division V Champions
    Santa Fe Christian Eagles (10-3)
    Defeated Francis Parker 31-15

    In their second consecutive appearance in the Division V Finals, Santa Fe Christian earned their fifth section title and a bid in the state regional. Senior Conor Keith led a rushing attack that totaled 306 yards. The Eagles will take on Rio Hondo Prep at Del Norte High School in the Division IV Southern California regional playoff. Kick off is set for Friday, December 7th at 7:30 p.m. pacific time.

    U-T Preps
    KUSI Prep Pigskin Report
    Cal Preps

    Helmets Designed By: California Helmet Project

Share This Page