1. Welcome to San Diego Chargers NFL Football Podcast and Forum!

    Bolt Talk is one of the largest online communities for the San Diego Chargers. We host a regular Chargers podcast during the season. You are currently viewing our community forums as a guest user.

    Create an Account or

    Having an account grants you additional privileges, such as creating and participating in discussions. Furthermore, we hide most of the ads once you register as a member!
    Dismiss Notice

Why didn't we challenge that catch on the first drive?

Discussion in 'Chargers Fan Forum' started by CasualKnowledge, Oct 5, 2009.

  1. CasualKnowledge

    CasualKnowledge BoltTalker

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Ratings:
    +19
    I can't remember who it was, but it was a deep catch down the sideline and I'm 99% sure he didn't have both feet in. I'm usually sticking up for the coaching staff, but that was bad and changed the whole complexion of the game. I'm not sure who is responsible for that in the booth, but it should have been flagged.

    Also, the touchdown on that same drive, Weddle is blitzing and it leaves a guy wide open. Not sure if it's him or the staff on this one either, but I wish we had an instinctive safety for stuff like that.
     
  2. BOLTS4LIFE

    BOLTS4LIFE Banned Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,525
    Ratings:
    +542
    Because it wouldn't have been overturned. He was pushed out before he had a chance to get both feet in. There for, it's a completed pass.
     
  3. MasterOfPuppets

    MasterOfPuppets Charger fan since 1979

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,053
    Ratings:
    +636
    I believe since last year you can push a reciever out of bounce and it's an incomplete pass

    It should have been challenged, I thnk that was a mistake from someone in the booth
     
  4. Zot

    Zot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Ratings:
    +14
    Your right. Your allowed to push the reciever out of bounds now. I haven't seen the game yet so I have a question...Was it a phantom pass interference call to extend that drive? It sounded on the radio that Cro barely touched him AND the ball was uncatchable.

    Later
     
  5. MasterOfPuppets

    MasterOfPuppets Charger fan since 1979

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,053
    Ratings:
    +636
    I believe it was a hold, but yeah there was one although some of those go uncalled
     
  6. Boltergeist

    Boltergeist BoltTalker

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    717
    Ratings:
    +111
    I'm glad someone brought this up....I was screaming for a review when it happened. He clearly had one foot in and it was a crucial play...With the rule change, that should not have been a catch. That was a majore F-UP by our coaching staff not to review...Laz brought this up also during the Chargers report after the game. I'm surprised there wasn't more discussion. Wasn't that a 3rd and long also?
     
  7. reddenedbeard

    reddenedbeard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,939
    Ratings:
    +112
    Wrong. DBs can now push receivers out of bounds. If they don't get 2 feet down, it should be an incompleted pass.

    It should have been reviewed.
     
  8. Boltergeist

    Boltergeist BoltTalker

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    717
    Ratings:
    +111
    Exactly...If you and I know that, why don't our coaches...the TV announcers even missed in. I'm 99% sure that shouldn't have been a catch and would have been overturned if they had thrown the flag.
     
  9. SD Native WY

    SD Native WY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,706
    Ratings:
    +334
    We don't have real coaches apparently!!!!! And I agree it should have been challenged and overturned. The reason why is attention to detail.....there is very little of that these days. Many times a player of the team making a challenge will alert the coaches to it, I don't know if that was done in this case. See above!!!!!!!!!
     
  10. HEXEDBOLT

    HEXEDBOLT Don't like it, lump it!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    14,284
    Ratings:
    +1,887
    Your wrong, you can be pushed out and it isn't a catch. It never should have been. You can't make it in the field of play then take a hike.
     
  11. Joy Division

    Joy Division Slightly-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,323
    Ratings:
    +542
    Agree with all being said. The guy got one foot down and was turning when he got pushed out of bounds. That means NO CATCH. It seemed obvious to me and they even replayed it...but of course dimwit Chris Collinsworth was too busy talking about what he would do with Big Ben if he were a Casino Supervisor.
    That gave them a first down that led to a touchdown. Should have been turned over on downs...Oh well.
     
  12. sdbound

    sdbound Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    6,417
    Ratings:
    +942
  13. boltsnow

    boltsnow BoltTalker

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335
    Ratings:
    +56
  14. wrbanwal

    wrbanwal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9,707
    Ratings:
    +1,036


    I just don't get it.


    I can see that from Michigan, but the refs and/or coaches can't see it from 10 yards away?

    :icon_huh:
     
  15. boltsnow

    boltsnow BoltTalker

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335
    Ratings:
    +56
    The more I think about it, Cooper should have dropped to the ground and faked an injury and then tried to give our guys upstairs to look at it closer to whether they wanted to challenge it or not.:lol:
     
  16. wrbanwal

    wrbanwal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9,707
    Ratings:
    +1,036
    :lol:

    yeah, cause at this point, we can't count our our booth to make the right call like most clubs

    :lol:
     
  17. WonderSlug

    WonderSlug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    9,747
    Ratings:
    +851
    Regarding that catch, I forgot on which sideline it occurred.

    If it was on the Steelers' side, I could see where Norv wouldn't challenge it because he wouldn't have had a good view of it from 50 yards away.

    In that case, it would be the guys up in the booth for us with their very own video review requipment to quickly replay it and buzz down to Norv to challenge the catch.
     
  18. Retired Catholic

    Retired Catholic BoltTalker

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    7,894
    Ratings:
    +347
    That was a first order coaching blunder. Both in the booth and on the field. No excuses.
     

Share This Page